Scrapbooking with Project Life and Life Documented Manila

Long before it wasΒ cool, I had already been scrapbooking. I started when I was 12, after my first (and so far only) trip to the US. I ended up collecting receipts, postcards, tickets and random things throughout the trip, that I ended up just putting them all in a clear book. It was nothing much — it was more of me putting the stuff inside the pockets and labeling them accordingly.

Photo 9-15-14, 1 16 59 AM

Fast forward to 6 years later — it was the summer after high school and I was feeling bummed that my high school memories weren’t properly chronicled. At that time, only Friendster was available (yes, there wasn’t even Multiply back then!) and it wasn’t really sufficient for me to remember the stuff I did in high school. I remember trying to make a scrapbook of my high school memories, but I just ended up getting really overwhelmed and frustrated because there were just too many things to do, and I was already forgetting the things I wanted to put in. This was why I made the decision to properly chronicle my college life in scrapbooks — 6 of them to be exact.

Photo 9-15-14, 1 18 13 AM

Photo 9-15-14, 1 18 38 AM

Inasmuch as I was proud to have had made scrapbooks of my years in college, there actually came a point when I thought that it was no longer practical. These scrapbooks took hours and hours of sifting through the “garbage” of my college years, gluing stuff together, having pictures printed.. well, you get the picture. This was why I wasn’t able to continue it when I started working.

I thought scrapbooking would fall into that long list of stuff-I-tried-to-do-but-got-lazy-to-do (just like cross stitching and other arts and crafts stuff I started), because the last one I made was in 2008. Good thing I made the decision to go to the August workshop of Life Documented Manila — the scrapbooking bug is back on! And this time, its so much easier! πŸ™‚

Life Documented Manila promotes the Project Life method of scrapbooking, particularly the one by Becky Higgins. It only involves putting pictures and cards into little pockets that fit into binder-like scrapbooks. Simple as it may seem, of course it still depends on the person how he/she is going to layout the story he/she wants to convey, and what kinds of embellishments are to be put into the page.

Photo 8-30-14, 9 57 47 AM Photo 8-30-14, 1 29 01 PM

It all starts out with these cards (which are all so cute! It was so hard to choose which ones to use!) and the scrapbook itself. These cards could be used to fill empty spaces, or to put a bit of journaling (which I love to do.)

Photo 8-30-14, 12 42 52 PM

My first scrapbook (I say first, because I know for sure I’ll end up making more, hahaha.) is about my stay in the Biggest Loser Camp. I was totally in the zone during the workshop, I ended up filling up lots of pages! I used the cards mainly for journaling, as you can see in the photos. I also got to try using stamps (huhu where to buy?) on the cards.

Photo 9-3-14, 11 37 28 PM Photo 9-3-14, 11 36 42 PM

I had so much fun, I ended up continuing the project when I got home! I even found a letter from my dad from one of the challenges, and props from the show, that I put in my scrapbook. πŸ™‚ I also put little post its as reminders of which pictures I needed to get and how to layout them with the page protectors.

I’m really happy I got back into this old hobby of mine. I love how its the same feeling of nostalgia I get while making these scrapbooks, yet this time around, its so much easier! I’m so addicted, I now want to buy my own stamps and a 12 x 12 scrapbook for my travels. Heck, I just bought the Sharpies I had been coveting for the longest time, because now I have something to use them for. Hahaha. If you’re thinking of what to get me for my birthday, now you know what I want! *hint, hint*

Check out Life Documented Manila at their blogΒ and on Instagram for more info about the workshops and the products πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

