Artsy Saturday: The Sip and Gogh Experience

The thing I like about my friends is that we’re always game for random adventures and activities. This is why on a random Saturday afternoon, we found ourselves in QC, learning how to paint.

Photo 7-18-15, 1 04 50 PM

I’ve always been curious about what Sip and Gogh was since College. See, my friends and I would always be in Capitol Hills, either in Jack’s Loft or in Dencio’s so the place is definitely familiar to me. Recently, my friends and I have been talking about how we miss being creative, and long story short, we decided to try out what Sip and Gogh was all about.

Once we made sure that we were available on a Saturday (Figuring out when we’re all free sucks! Hahaha) the next thing we decided on was which painting to try out. For that particular Saturday, there were 4 slots available — 10am, 1pm, 4pm, and 7pm. Each slot has a unique painting to be taught, and we decided on trying out the 1pm painting, “Cherry Blossoms.” We also had to register and pay in advance so that we would be reserved a seat. This is important because the place could only accommodate about 30 people at the most so you might not be accommodated if you just walk in.

Anyway, when we got there, we were each given a blank canvas, paints, paintbrushes, and a cup of water to clean our paintbrushes with. Someone also approached each of us to ask for our orders.Photo 7-18-15, 1 12 12 PM

And then the tutorial started. A facilitator taught us where to begin — which colors to mix, and which part of the canvas to focus on. Since we started with the background, it involved a lot of blending colors together which was a bit challenging. (The pink – blue blending was just too difficult for me, as you can see. Hahaha.)

Photo 7-18-15, 1 43 29 PM

Once this was finished, we started painting the tree. My branches look like claws though. Hahaha. Buti na lang, my friend was justifying it to me na Tim Burton-esque daw yung branches ko. Hahaha. See, I love my friends. πŸ™‚

Photo 7-18-15, 2 08 20 PM

Finally, we were taught how to paint the actual cherry blossoms themselves. For me this was the easiest part since was all about just putting dots or lines on the branches.

Photo 7-18-15, 2 47 11 PMPhoto 7-18-15, 2 37 31 PM

 The Original Painting

The Original Painting

Of course, the original still looks so much better. But hey, not bad for a beginner, right?

Anyway, we were each also served a plate of cheeses, cold cuts, crackers, and fruits, so that we would have something to munch on while waiting for our paintings to dry up.

All in all, this is something I’d like to try again. I had lots of fun, and it was definitely relaxing. And I also love the fact that I now have a painting on canvas, hanging proudly inside my room. πŸ™‚

Check out Sip and Gogh at www.sipandgogh.comΒ 

Leave a Reply

