The Hong Kong Blog Entry: DISNEYLAND!

IMG_5532

The whole of our 1st legit day in Hong Kong was spent in Disneyland. This was a very good idea for two major reasons — one, we went on a Friday, so the crowds weren’t as chaotic as they would have been had we gone on a weekend, and two, good thing we went on that day, because the rest of the weekend had been gloomy and rainy.

Call me sappy, but there were so many times when I wanted to cry while I was there. The last time I had been in any Disneyland theme park was when I was 12; it’s been so long ago that I couldn’t even remember it anymore. There really is something about places like these that make you want to be a kid again. Well, I really, really, (x infinity) enjoyed feeling like a kid again even for just a day!

I’m not gonna dwell on how to get there since it’s very easy. What I loved though, that once we transferred to the Sunny Bay Line to get to Disneyland, it already felt very festive, with all the hidden (and not so hidden) Mickeys!

 

Anyway, here are the stuff we tried out and my take on all of them —

Adventureland

Tarzan’s Treehouse

IMG_5595

 

 

We had to ride a raft to get across to the island where the treehouse was located. This wasn’t much though. It was just a bunch of stairs and rope bridges going around that gigantic tree.

Festival of the Lion King

IMG_5612

 

 

We had to wait quite a while for this show since we really wanted to see it. The Festival of the Lion King was a quick retelling of Simba’s story, with live song and dance numbers. Loved singing along with them and I loved the mascots that they used! Simba was so cute! ❀

Fantasy Land

It’s a Small World

 

 

I have to admit, this got me teary eyed a bit. Hahaha. Maybe because it really dawned on me that I was in Disneyland? Yeah, I was really that excited to be there. The dolls were all so beautiful! Loved seeing the Filipino dolls too!

Fantasy Gardens

11892096_10153544330288718_2417766139327867007_n

 

The Fantasy Gardens was where we had our photo op with Pooh. In the afternoon, the mascots would converge there and people would line up to have their photos taken. The lines for Mickey and Minnie were too long though, so we ended up having our picture taken with Pooh. πŸ™‚

The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh

Speaking of Pooh — he has his own ride! Admittedly this one was for kids, but you gotta appreciate the thought that went into making it as magical as possible.

Mickey’s Philharmagic

This was your typical 4D film viewing experience. My takeaway? It was fun being there with kids! I couldn’t help but be as amazed as they were with the stuff jumping off the screen!

Grizzly Gulch

 

 

Big Grizzly Mountain Runaway Mine Cars

I went into Disneyland thinking I wouldn’t be riding any legit rides. Well, I was wrong. Allan and I decided to give this a shot because it looked harmless enough. It might not have any of the typical roller coaster twirls, but it was still very, very exciting. (Too exciting that we actually saw someone puke her brains out after the ride. Hahaha.)

Main Street, USA

IMG_5546

Animation Academy

IMG_5541

 

 

Tested out our drawing skills! Drew Olaf from Frozen! πŸ™‚

Mystic Point

Mystic Manor

IMG_5570

 

 

This has got to be my most favorite ride of them all. πŸ™‚ See, I can’t even say much about it apart from how much I loved the effects and how they were used. It’s been a long time since I went out of a ride thinking of how they were able to do the things that they did.

Tomorrowland

11949540_10153544334148718_7787272268549636776_n

Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters

This was just fun. I sucked at it though. Hahahaha.

Space Mountain

A lot of thought went into whether we would go into this ride or not. But then as it happened, because there were no lines, we ended up doing it anyway. Sobrang bilis nya, okay. Hahaha. Again, even if there weren’t any twirls of any kind, it was just soooo fast that I felt queasy afterwards. And the fact that you couldn’t see anything made it more exciting!

Toy Story Land

 

 

Toy Soldier Parachute Drop

This one we wanted to do but we weren’t able to. 😦 Everytime we would pass by it there would be a 2 hour waiting period so we figured, we’d do other stuff. πŸ™‚

“Disney Paint the Night” Nighttime Spectacular

 

 

 

Disney’s night time parade! Got good seats so we were able to see everything! (We sat on the sidewalk, but hey, it was worth it!)

“Disney in the Stars” Fireworks

IMG_5672

 

 

And finally, the fireworks. Again, the tears were there. Hahahaha. Such a nice memory! ❀ It was pretty difficult to get a decent photo because we just wanted to enjoy the moment!

I had so much fun, I would definitely go back in a heartbeat! (And if I have unlimited funds hahaha) They’re building an Iron Man ride, so there’s more to look forward to! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “The Hong Kong Blog Entry: DISNEYLAND!

Leave a Reply

